Merle Haggard - Big City





Product No.:
In Stock

FLAC 96kHz/24bit Download

FLAC 96kHz/24bit Download

Only Available in the


or Add to Wishlist

Total download size: 566MB Total play length: 30:36

Cover art included, liner notes not included

After lengthy tenures with Capitol and MCA, Merle Haggard commenced his years with Epic by emphasizing barroom balladry and populist social commentary. 1981's Big City is among the strongest of Merle's middle-period releases, a deeply felt work by an artist living up to his own legend. Ever the restless kind, he celebrates the open road in the title track and "Good Old American Guest." With masterful understatement, he happily kisses bad love goodbye in "I Think I'm Gonna Live Forever" and nurses a bruised heart in "Stop The World And Let Me Off." Most memorable of all is "I Always Get Lucky With You," a whisky-tinged toast to a special woman, which ranks among his finest ballads. The Strangers — Merle's longtime backup band — are in peak form, with guitarist Roy Nichols and keyboardist Mark Yeary stepping out for some jazzy solo flights while Haggard brings a mellowed authority to each track, embracing (but never wallowing in) the blues and letting his inner romantic shine through. Big City is vintage Hag, rendered with honesty and country to its core.

1. Big City
2. My Favorite Memory
3. Good Old American Guest
4. I Think I'm Gonna Live Forever
5. This Song Is Mine
6. Stop The World And Let Me Off
7. Are the Good Times Really Over (I Wish a Buck Was Still Silver)
8. Texas Fiddle Song
9. You Don't Have Very Far To Go
10. I Always Get Lucky with You

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it