Carriers are reporting longer-than-normal shipping times. Acoustic Sounds is not responsible for in-transit delays.

John Fahey - The Great San Bernardino Birthday Party


4 Men with Beards



Product No.:
A4MB 204
UPC: 646315120417
Limited Stock

180 Gram Vinyl Record

180 Gram LP

or Add to Wishlist

Originally released in 1966. Fahey never recorded an album that was more thoroughly of its moment. From the groovy flute and twangy sitar accompaniment to the backwards guitar, this Birthday Party is a charmingly trippy '60s time capsule. But it isn't a two dimensional one. The album gains immense depth from the tension between his sweeping, fingerpicked melodies and discordant string-battery. It's the audible battle between yearned for rose colored luminescence and ankle blistering hellhound darkness that enables this record to transcend its hippie dreaminess.

1. The Great San Bernardino Birthday Party
2. Knott's Berry Farm Molly
3. Will the Circle Be Unbroken
4. Guitar Excursions into the Unknown
5. 900 Miles
6. Sail Away Ladies
7. Oh Come, Oh Come Emanuel

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it