Blake Shelton - Based on a True Story...

 (Deluxe Version)


Warner Bros.



Product No.:
In Stock

FLAC 88kHz/24bit Download

FLAC 88kHz/24bit Download

Only Available in the


or Add to Wishlist

Total download size: 998MB Total play length: 50:52

Cover art included, liner notes not included

The crossover sound of Based on a True Story… has much to do with this being Blake Shelton's first album after he gained stardom as a judge on The Voice. But just because he’s reaching for a wider audience doesn't mean he’s abandoned his country roots. As the opening “Boys 'Round Here” (which features the country supergroup Pistol Annies) reveals, Shelton has exaggerated his twangy tones with inflated pop production. This one was built like a new pickup truck with bolt-on accessories; at its foundation is a looped beat and acoustic guitar riff, over which Shelton raps and sings about good-‘ol boy pride. Behind him, Pistol Annies provide some of the coolest backing vocals to ever grace any of his recordings. “Sure Be Cool If You Did” similarly builds on a country-pop ballad foundation with prerequisite pedal-steel notes and soaring three-part vocal harmonies that accompany Shelton’s amorous serenading. The rootsy rocker “I Still Got a Finger” plays like an update of Johnny Paycheck’s “Take This Job And Shove It.”

1. Boys 'Round Here
2. Sure Be Cool If You Did
3. Do You Remember
4. Small Town Big Time
5. Country On The Radio
6. My Eyes
7. Doin' What She Likes
8. I Still Got A Finger
9. Mine Would Be You
10. Lay Low
11. Ten Times Crazier
12. Granddaddy's Gun
13. I Found Someone
14. Frame Of Mine

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it