Carriers are reporting longer-than-normal shipping times. Acoustic Sounds is not responsible for in-transit delays.

The Band - Northern Lights-Southern Cross





Product No.:
ACAP 71501
UPC: 602547206602
In Stock

180 Gram Vinyl Record

180 Gram LP  

or Add to Wishlist

Also available on:
Preowned Vinyl Record
Sealed/ Promo Hole

180-gram vinyl pressed at Quality Record Pressings

This was the sixth studio album by Canadian-American rock group "The Band." It was the first album to be recorded at their new California studio, "Shangri-La" and the first album of all new material since 1971's Cahoots. All songs are credited as compositions of guitarist Robbie Robertson.

Northern Lights, was a return-to-roots for The Band, who had wished to record in a "clubhouse" atmosphere like they had enjoyed in Woodstock (where Music From Big Pink and The Band had both been famously recorded). Northern Lights was recorded in their new "Shangri-La" studio in California, a building alleged to be a former bordello by bassist, Rick Danko.

Garth Hudson's use of the then cutting edge analoge synthesizer features prominently throughout the album, especially on the surreal cut "Jupiter Hollow." Danko's probably gave his best studio vocal performance of all time on "It Makes No Difference," the live version on The Last Waltz was good, but still not near as emotionally powerful as it appears here on this record. Robertson successfully explored American and Canadian history in "Acadian Driftwood," telling the saga of how the Acadian people moved from their homes up north to become the Cajun people of the Southern US. "Ophelia" would become a stage staple of The Band in their last years together.

1. Rags & Bones
2. Acadian Driftwood
3. Ophelia
4. Hobo Jungle
5. It Makes No Difference
6. Forbidden Fruit
7. Ring Your Bell
8. Jupiter Hollow

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it