Detroit Symphony Orchestra - Copland: Rodeo - Dance Panels - El salón México - Danzón cubano


2xHD - Naxos



Product No.:
In Stock

DSD (Single Rate) 2.8MHz/64fs Download

DSD (Single Rate) 2.8MHz/64fs Download

Only Available in the

Total download size: 2.80GB Total play length: 1:10:07

Cover art and liner notes included

While Copland’s hugely successful celebration of the American West, Rodeo, has become an American classic, Dance Panels is barely known despite working beautifully as a concert work. Based on popular Mexican melodies, the glittering, even exotic El Salón Mexico is one of Copland’s most frequently performed works. Of his rhythmically complex Danzón Cubano, inspired by a visit to a dance hall in Cuba, in which there were two orchestras playing at both ends, the composer himself wrote: “I did not attempt to reproduce an authentic Cuban sound but felt free to add my own touches of displaced accents and unexpected silent beats.” Grammy Award-winning conductor Leonard Slatkin’s recording of Copland’s Lincoln Portrait received "the kind of performance that brought tears to my eyes (Audiophile Audition)."

1. Rodeo: I. Buckaroo Holiday
2. Rodeo: II. Corral Nocturne
3. Rodeo: III. Ranch House Party
4. Rodeo: IV. Saturday Night Waltz
5. Rodeo: V. Hoe Down
6. Dance Panels: I. Introduction: Moderato (Tempo di valzer) - Espressivo un poco rubato
7. Dance Panels: II. Allegretto con tenerezza (Un poco rubato)
8. Dance Panels: III. Scherzando - Moderato
9. Dance Panels: IV. Pas de Trois: Lento
10. Dance Panels: V. Con brio
11. Dance Panels: VI. Con moto
12. Dance Panels: VII. Molto ritmico - Coda - Come prima - Moderato
13. El salon Mexico
14. Danzon Cubano

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it