Al Jarreau - Breakin' Away


Music On Vinyl



Product No.:
AMOV 1351
EAN: 8718469538416

180 Gram Vinyl Record

180 Gram LP

Sorry, this Product is no longer available.

180-gram vinyl plus insert

Breakin' Away is a great follow-up of soul crooner Al Jarreau to his previous album This Time. The album was released in 1981 andbecame the standard bearer of the L.A. Pop and R&B sound. The album was certified platinum by the RIAA.

Breakin' Away assumes its own identity with brilliant results. "Closer To Your Love" comes off as a tougher, more confident version of the songs from the previous album. "Easy" with its gorgeous and subtle Latin flourishes has Jarreau's purposeful delivery coming off oddly poignant in its joy and beauty. The hit "We're in This Love Together" is on the album, just as the bittersweet "My Old Friend." Jarreau brings new life to "Teach Me Tonight" and it has a sweeping, dreamy arrangement. But the album of course contains the biggest hit of all, "Roof Garden," with Al's inimitable vocal delivery.

The album was created with an amazing producer/artist chemistry, and top-level players such as George Duke, David Foster, Dean Parks, and Steve Gadd can be heard on this record.


Side 1
1. Closer to Your Love
2. My Old Friend
3. We’re In This Love Together
4. Easy
5. Our Love

Side 2
6. Breakin’ Away
7. Roof Garden
8. Blue Rondo A La Turk
9. Teach Me Tonight

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it