Ireland RTE National Symphony Orchestra - Bizet Roma - Marche Funebre


2xHD - Naxos



Product No.:
In Stock

FLAC 192kHz/24bit Download

FLAC 192kHz/24bit Download

Only Available in the

Total download size: 2.70GB Total play length: 1:18:17

Cover art and liner notes included

Technical Notes:

From 2xHD "This album was mastered using our 2xHD proprietary system. In order to achieve the most accurate reproduction of the original recording we tailor our process specifically for each project, using a selection from our pool of state-of-the-art audiophile components and connectors. The process begins with a transfer to analog from the original 24bits/96kHz,  using cutting edge D/A converters. The analog signal is then sent through a hi-end tube pre-amplifier and (if needed) will be EQ’d before being recorded directly in DXD using the dCS905 A/D and the dCS Vivaldi Clock. All connections used in the process are made of OCC silver cable. DSD and 192kHz/24Bit versions are separately generated, directly from the analog signal."

The success of Bizet’s opera Carmen has overshadowed the rest of his output, but this fascinating orchestral programme, which includes a number of seldom performed works, reveals more of his talent for writing colourful, atmospheric and melodic music. The Overture in A was Bizet’s first orchestral work and unperformed in his lifetime, while the Marche funèbre was originally the prelude to an opera about love and vengeance, now lost. The dramatic overture Patrie captures the mood following the Franco-Prussian war of 1870–71, while the Petite suite is a set of orchestrations of movements from Jeux d’enfants (Children’s Games). Conceived in Italy as a symphony, after Bizet had won the Prix de Rome, Roma occupied the composer for 11 years before the final version heard here.

1. Marche funebre in B Minor
2. Overture in A Major
3. Patrie Overture
4. Jeux d'enfants: No. 8. Les Quatre Coins (version for orchestra)
5. Petite Suite (arr. of Jeux d'enfants for orchestra): No. 1. Marche: Trompette et tambour
6. Petite Suite (arr. of Jeux d'enfants for orchestra): No. 2. Berceuse: La Poupee
7. Petite Suite (arr. of Jeux d'enfants for orchestra): No. 3. Impromptu: La toupie
8. Petite Suite (arr. of Jeux d'enfants for orchestra): No. 4. Duo: Petit mari, petite femme
9. Petite Suite (arr. of Jeux d'enfants for orchestra): No. 5. Galop: Le bal
10. Roma: I. Andante tranquillo - Allegro agitato - Andante
11. Roma: II. Allegro vivace
12. Roma: III. Andante molto
13. Roma: IV. Allegro vivacissimo

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it