Marc Soustrot - Saint-Saens Symphonies Nos. 1 & 2 - Phaeton


2xHD - Naxos



Product No.:
In Stock

DSD (Single Rate) 2.8MHz/64fs Download

DSD (Single Rate) 2.8MHz/64fs Download

Only Available in the


or Add to Wishlist

Also available on:
FLAC 192kHz/24bit Download

Total download size: 2.60GB Total play length: 1:05:59

Cover art and liner notes included

Technical Notes:

From 2xHD "This album was mastered using our 2xHD proprietary system. In order to achieve the most accurate reproduction of the original recording we tailor our process specifically for each project, using a selection from our pool of state-of-the-art audiophile components and connectors. The process begins with a transfer to analog from the original 24bits/96kHz, or 88.2 kHz resolution master, using cutting edge D/A converters. The analog signal is then sent through a hi-end tube pre-amplifier and (if needed) will be EQ’d before being recorded directly in DXD using the dCS905 A/D and the dCS Vivaldi Clock. All connections used in the process are made of OCC silver cable. DSD and 192kHz/24Bit versions are separately generated, directly from the analog signal."

Precocious as a child, Camille Saint-Saëns was once known as the French Mendelssohn. The remarkably assured First Symphony, completed at the age of 17, was praised by Berlioz and Gounod at its first performance. The elegantly crafted Second Symphony defies convention not least by basing the first movement on a fugue, while the symphonic poem Phaéton skilfully brings this Greek mythological drama to life with stampeding horses, thunderbolts and a moving apotheosis. This is Volume 1 of 3 devoted to the five Saint-Saëns Symphonies.

1. Symphony No. 1 in E-Flat Major, Op. 2: I. Adagio - Allegro
2. Symphony No. 1 in E-Flat Major, Op. 2: II. Marche - Scherzo: Allegretto scherzando
3. Symphony No. 1 in E-Flat Major, Op. 2: III. Adagio
4. Symphony No. 1 in E-Flat Major, Op. 2: IV. Finale: Allegro maestoso
5. Symphony No. 2 in A Minor, Op. 55: I. Allegro marcato - Piu allegro - Tempo primo - Piu allegro - Tempo primo - Allegro appassionato
6. Symphony No. 2 in A Minor, Op. 55: II. Adagio
7. Symphony No. 2 in A Minor, Op. 55: III. Scherzo: Presto - Un poco meno mosso
8. Symphony No. 2 in A Minor, Op. 55: IV. Prestissimo - Andantino - Tempo primo
9. Phaeton, Op. 39

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it