Carriers are reporting longer-than-normal shipping times. Acoustic Sounds is not responsible for in-transit delays.

Marlena Shaw - Who Is This Bitch, Anyway?


Blue Note



Product No.:

DSD (Single Rate) 2.8MHz/64fs Download

DSD (Single Rate) 2.8MHz/64fs Download

Only Available in the

Total download size: 1.60GB Total play length: 39:35

Cover art included, liner notes not included

"A record as fierce and blunt as its title portends, Who Is This Bitch, Anyway? vaults Marlena Shaw into a brave new world of feminism and funk, updating the sophisticated soul-jazz approach of her previous records to explore a fast-changing musical, political, and sexual landscape. Opening with "You, Me and Ethel," a hilarious satire of the singles bar culture, the album dissects modern romance with uncommon insight and candor, addressing lust ("Feel Like Makin' Love") and loss ("You Been Away Too Long") without pulling any punches. The music is similarly direct and progressive, running the gamut from luminous soul to scorching funk grooves. Not only Shaw's best-selling Blue Note release, Who Is This Bitch, Anyway? represents her creative apex as well." — AllMusic

1. You Me And Ethel/Street Walkin' Woman
2. You Taught Me How To Speak In Love
3. Davy
4. Feel Like Making Love
5. The Lord Giveth And The Lord Taketh Away
6. You Been Away Too Long
7. You
8. Loving You Was Like A Party
9. A Prelude For Rose Marie
10. Rose Marie (Mon Cherie)

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it