Frank Sinatra - Close To You




Easy Listening

Product No.:
ACAP 62566
UPC: 602537862566
In Stock

Vinyl Record

One of the most conceptually daring of Sinatra's Capitol albums returns to print in this 2015 reissue. Close to You put the singer and arranger Nelson Riddle together with the Hollywood String Quartet, a small rhythm section, and guests including Sinatra regular Harry "Sweets" Edison for one of his most intimate sets.

The delivery is very conversational and especially suits lyrics such as "Blame It on My Youth," "I Couldn't Sleep a Wink Last Night," and Johnny Mercer's wry "P.S. I Love You." These emotionally generous ballads are often relaxed but are no less intense for it. Three bonus tracks complete the 1956 Close sessions and include a straight-faced reading of the Bing Crosby novelty number "There's a Flaw in My Flue." A marvelous disc that both stands on its own and demonstrates the flexibility of the era's downbeat Sinatra.

1. Close To You
2. P.S. I Love You
3. Love Locked Out
4. Everything Happens To Me
5. It’s Easy To Remember
6. Don’t Like Goodbyes
7. With Every Breath I Take
8. Blame It On My Youth
9. It Could Happen To You
10. I’ve Had My Moments
11. I Couldn’t Sleep A Wink Last Night
12. The End Of A Love Affair

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it