Carriers are reporting longer-than-normal shipping times. Acoustic Sounds is not responsible for in-transit delays.

J.J. Cale - Rewind:The Unreleased Recordings


Timelife Records



Product No.:
ATLW 30972
UPC: 610583504521

180 Gram Vinyl Record

180 Gram LP

180-gram LP includes "Since You Said Goodbye"

J.J. Cale with his full band: 14 unreleased studio tracks, 1973-1982

Includes self-penned tracks and covers of songs by longtime friends Eric Clapton, Leon Russell, Waylon Jennings and Randy Newman

Step back in time with musical treasures from an American music icon!

J.J. Cale: Rewind: The Unreleased Recordings is a trove of previously unreleased songs recorded by American music icon J.J. Cale during his early and most influential years. Featuring vintage tracks originally recorded during Cale's legendary tenures in the '70s and early '80s at Shelter Records and Mercury Records, Rewind is a remarkable collection that exemplifies J.J. Cale's distinctive, legendary style: laid-back guitar and almost whispered vocals with influences of rock 'n' roll, country, blues and jazz.

Not only are Rewind's eight Cale-penned songs a time capsule of musical treasures, he also personally selected several covers to include. It's extremely rare for Cale to record another songwriter's material, making these songs particularly extraordinary. He puts his personal spin on Eric Clapton's "Golden Ring," Leon Russell's "My Cricket," Waylon Jennings' "Waymore's Blues" and Randy Newman's "Rollin'."

In homage to the format the tracks were originally intended for, now J.J. Cale: Rewind is being released on vinyl.

Recorded at the famous Crazy Mamas Studio in Nashville, Tennessee, Cale is backed by a full band on these classic studio recordings. Throughout the album, Cale is accompanied by some of the greatest musicians of the era, including guitarist Richard Thompson, Tim Drummond on bass (Neil Young), Glen D. Hardin on piano (Merle Haggard, Elvis Presley, Gram Parsons), Muscle Shoals studio band member Spooner Oldham on organ, and drummer Jim Keltner (Bob Dylan, John Lennon) among others. Produced by his longtime producer Audie Ashworth, the outcome is timeless J.J. — these songs are as relevant today as when they were recorded back in the ‘70s and early ‘80s.


Side 1
1. Guess I Lose
2. Waymore’s Blues
3. Rollin’
4. Golden Ring
5. My Cricket
6. Since You Said Goodbye
7. Seven Day Woman

Side 2
8. Bluebird
9. My Baby and Me
10. Lawdy Mama
11. Blue Sunday
12. Our Of Style
13. Ooh La La
14. All Mama’s Children

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it