Carriers are reporting longer-than-normal shipping times. Acoustic Sounds is not responsible for in-transit delays.

Thelonious Monk - Genius Of Modern Music Volume One


Blue Note



Product No.:
ABLU 73073
UPC: 602537730735
In Stock

Vinyl Record


or Add to Wishlist

Also available on:
10 inch Vinyl Record

The late jazz icon's 1947 album. These two volumes represent the finest collection of Thelonious Monk to be found anywhere with lucid examples of his work from both the 1940s and '50s. Vol. 1 contains recordings culled from the mid and late-'40s.

There is the sombre beauty of the already immortalized "'Round About Midnight," the percussive, provocative minority of "Off Minor," the sentiment without sentimentality of "Ruby My Dear," the unflaggging freshness of "Well You Needn't," the Monk in Paris in April of "April In Paris," the questioning beauty of the heretofore unreleased Introspection, the humor and ingenuity of the one-noted Thelonious and the marvelous harmonic and rhythmic interplay between Milt Jackson and Monk on "Epistrophy" (written by Monk and Kenny Clarke), "I Mean You" (a theme borrowed by Gerry Mulligan for his "Motel"), and "Misterioso."

Thelonious Monk Genius of Modern Music Vol. One returns as part of an overall Blue Note 75th anniversary vinyl initiative spearheaded by current Blue Note Records President, Don Was.

Side 1
1. ‘Round About Midnight
2. Off Minor
3. Ruby My Dear
4. I Mean You
5. April In Paris
6. In Walked Bud

Side 2
7. Thelonious
8. Epistrophy
9. Mysterioso
10. Well You Needn’t
11. Introspection
12. Humph

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it