Coleman Hawkins - Encounters Ben Webster





Product No.:
In Stock

FLAC 96kHz/24bit Download

FLAC 96kHz/24bit Download

Total download size: 827MB Total play length: 36:33

Cover art included, liner notes not included

Both Coleman Hawkins and Ben Webster had the strength and depth of sound to fill a room without a microphone. As Hawkins once put it, "On the saxophone, sound is it. - I didn't have to work on it - the sound just came. You take a lot of boys over in New York, those who do all this playing - and the crazy ones who do all the crazy playing. They can't get my sound - that's what bugs them."

Some of today's saxophonists come close, but none has either the Hawkins-Webster fullness of tone or the enveloping spirit that sounds a strikingly individual identity. That's also called soul. When it came to music, neither Hawkins nor Webster would compromise.

1. Blues For Yolanda
2. It Never Entered My Mind
3. La Rosita
4. You'd Be So Nice To Come Home To
5. Prisoner Of Love
6. Tangerine
7. Shine On Harvest Moon

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it