Big George Brock - Heavyweight Blues


APO Records



Product No.:
In Stock

DSD (Single Rate) 2.8MHz/64fs Download

DSD (Single Rate) 2.8MHz/64fs Download

Canada Eligible


or Add to Wishlist

Also available on:

Total download size: 2.09GB

Cover art and liner notes included

A flat and direct transfer to DSD from the original analog tape master with all the dynamics and the tone of the original mixes.

Includes the bonus track "You Shook Me"

"You don't hear blues today. You think you do, but you don't. I'm talking about the younger generation. You're hearing crossover. To me, blues is…I don't know. Big George Brock. That's about as close – not close – it is the blues." – Sonny Payne in an interview with Roger Stolle, Blues Revue, DEC/JAN 2007

Sonny Payne has since 1951 been the regular host of KFFA's King Biscuit Time radio show in Helena, Arkansas. The show is the longest-running blues broadcast and was the first to feature live blues on the air, beginning with performances by Robert Lockwood Jr. and Sonny Boy Williamson II.

The latest from APO Records and Blue Heaven Studios...blues so raw and real they'll make you sore. There's no surprises here - just straight-ahead force. The songs are standards, some of 'em covered thousands of times. But NOBODY, that's a guaranteed NOBODY, comes closer to evoking the real feel of Muddy Waters or Howlin' Wolf than Big George Brock. His voice is as rich as fertile soil. But this isn't some imitation-contest record. Big George has got the goods all his own and has had 'em on display since the 1950s. He's a former Heavyweight boxer, and just like with the best of that sport, he'll gladly tell you what's coming. You still can't get out of the way.

Recorded at Blue Heaven Studios, Salina, Kansas.

1. Walking Through the Park
2. Smokestack Lightning
3. Tiger in Your Tank
4. Two Trains Running
5. Trouble No More
6. Young Fashioned Ways
7. I Just Want to Make Love to You
8. Howlin' for my Darlin'
9. Tin Pan Alley
10. Who's Been Talking
11. Evil
12. Can't Hold On Much Longer
13. You Don't Have to Go
14. You Shook Me (Bonus Track)

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it