Yo-Yo Ma, Edgar Meyer, Mark O'Connor - Appalachian Journey





Product No.:
In Stock

DSD (Single Rate) 2.8MHz/64fs Download

DSD (Single Rate) 2.8MHz/64fs Download


or Add to Wishlist

Total download size: 2.78GB

Cover art included, liner notes not included

Grammy Award winner for Best Classical Crossover Album

Appalachian Journey is the second album from the string trio of bassist and composer Edgar Meyer, fiddler and composer Mark O'Connor, and cellist Yo-Yo Ma. The follow-up album to the highly successful Appalachia Waltz collaboration, Appalachian Journey continues the combination of classical music with Appalachian, bluegrass, and American roots music in general. Yo-Yo Ma, alongside violinist O'Connor and bass player Meyer, runs through a number of original compositions fusing the traditions, as well as a few old standards from the genre repertoire.

As stated by the artists, Appalachia Waltz explored the combination of the three artists' sounds put together, while Journey expands upon this theme, exploring the sound of the three artists as a singular group. Joining with the trio are James Taylor on a pair of works (on both guitar and vocals) and Alison Krauss on fiddle and vocals. The vocalists are added specifically on a pair of old Stephen Foster works, the songs themselves thematically bridging the gap between the classical and folk realms. 

1. 1B
2. Misty Moonlight Waltz
3. Hard times Come Again No More
4. Indecision
5. Limerock
6. Benjamin (with James Taylor, guitar)
7. Fisher's Hornpipe (with Alison Krauss, violin)
8. Duet for Cello and Bass
9. Emily's Reel
10. Cloverfoot Reel
11. Poem for Carlita
12. Caprice For Three
13. Second Time Around
14. Slumber my Darling
15. Vistas

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it