Jimi Hendrix - Winterland





Product No.:
ALEG 2514
UPC: 886979342514
In Stock

180 Gram Vinyl Record

No. of Discs: 8

180 Gram LP  


or Add to Wishlist

Eight LP deluxe box set

Plated and pressed by Quality Record Pressings!

Highlights from six 1968 concerts from San Francisco's historic venue that reshaped rock 'n' roll

Includes 36-page book and rare backstage interview with Hendrix

Jimi Hendrix's Woodstock performance may be his most famous, but the guitarist named by Rolling Stone as the best in history was never better than at a three-night stand in San Francisco, putting on a total of six concerts that fans have long clamored to hear again. Featuring the crème de la crème of said performances, now everyone finally gets their wish.

Winterland is drawn from six stellar shows in October 1968 at San Francisco's historic Winterland Ballroom. These special performances celebrated the two-year anniversary of the Jimi Hendrix Experience and came just as the groundbreaking album Electric Ladyland was released. Even given the era's rich history, you'll be hard-pressed to come up with any concert that rivals what's here.

As many already know, Winterland presents some of Hendrix's most spectacular guitar work. This scintillating set is filled with rare live versions of classic songs such as "Manic Depression," "Are You Experienced?," "Tax Free" and "Little Wing" that are not part of any other Sony Legacy releases. Fans will also enjoy Hendrix's dramatic interpretations of Cream's "Sunshine Of Your Love" and Howlin' Wolf's "Killing Floor" (with the Experience joined by Jefferson Airplane bassist Jack Casady) as well as his rendition of Bob Dylan's "Like A Rolling Stone," which many critics and fans regard as the ultimate interpretation.

Pressed on eight 180-gram LPs by Quality Record Pressings, this special deluxe box set features never-before-released music from each of the six unforgettable Winterland performances. Please note that Winterland is now markedly different from the flawed single disc compilation, long out of print, briefly issued by Rykodisc in 1987 and 1988. Moreover, Winterland also presents a rare interview with Hendrix recorded backstage at the Boston Garden a few weeks after the Winterland performances. This previously unreleased bonus provides fans with a unique window into Hendrix's views about his background, his approach to the guitar and songwriting and future direction of his music.


1. Tax Free
2. Lover Man
3. Sunshine of Your Love
4. Hear My Train A Comin’
5. Killing Floor
6. Foxey Lady
7. Hey Joe
8. Star Spangled Banner
9. Purple Haze
10. Tax Free
11. Like a Rolling Stone
12. Lover Man
13. Hey Joe
14. Fire
15. Foxey Lady
16. Are You Experienced
17. Red House
18. Purple Haze
19. Fire
20. Lover Man
21. Like a Rolling Stone
22. Manic Depression
23. Sunshine of Your Love
24. Little Wing
25. Spanish Castle Magic
26. Red House
27. Hey Joe
28. Purple Haze
29. Wild Thing
30. Foxy Lady (10/12/68)
31. Voodoo Child (Slight Return) (10/10/68)
32. Red House (10/10/68)
33. Are You Experienced (10/10/68)
34. Star Spangled Banner (10/11/68)
35. Purple Haze (10/11/68)
36. Jimi Hendrix: Boston Garden Backstage Interview (11/16/68)

Customer Reviews (5.00 Stars) 1 person(s) rated this product.


posted on 11/08/2011
5 Stars
Reviewer: M
quality of the sound and the energy captured on these pressings. If youre deeply into Hendix and have a quality full range system, just get it. I cant stop playing it

Write a review and let people know what you think of this product OR just rate it.