Wynton Kelly Trio And Sextet - Kelly Blue





Product No.:
CJVC 050



Sorry, this Product is no longer available.

Also available on:
Vinyl Record
45 RPM Vinyl Record
SHM Single Layer SACDs
Japanese Import

Originally cut for Riverside, this set mostly features the influential pianist Wynton Kelly in a trio with his fellow rhythm section mates from the Miles Davis bands, bassist Paul Chambers and drummer Jimmy Cobb. "Kelly Blue" and "Keep It Moving" add cornetist Nat Adderley, flutist Bobby Jaspar and the tenor of Benny Golson to the band for some variety. The CD reissue augments the program with a previously unreleased "Do Nothin' Till You Hear From Me" and the alternate take of "Keep It Moving." Kelly was renowned as an accompanist, but as he shows on a set including three of his originals and four familiar standards (including "Softly As In a Morning Sunrise" and "Willow Weep for Me"), he was also a strong bop-based soloist too. A fine example of his talents.

1. Kelly Blue
2. Softly, As in a Morning Sunrise
3. Do Nothin' Till You Hear from Me
4. On Green Dolphin Street
5. Willow Weep for Me
6. Keep It Moving (Take 4)
7. Keep It Moving
8. Old Clothes

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it