Jay Leonhart Trio - Fly Me To The Moon





Product No.:
CVEN 0283 SA
EAN: 4571292519885
In Stock

Single Layer Stereo SACD

New Arrival

Single Layer Stereo SACD


or Add to Wishlist

Jazz trio performs Ray Brown tribute

On this tribute to Ray Brown, this stellar trio plays its way through 11 standards in nearly 66 minutes, and the result is as fresh and tasty as you could ever wish. The trio's instrumentation begs comparison with the great Oscar Peterson Trio, of whom Brown was such an important member, but this threesome plays with confidence and gusto, as if to scoff at the folly of such futile mind play. Joy and good fun exude from the disc as if from pores, writes reviewer J. Robert Bragonier.

Highlights of the album include a brisk and sparkling "Street Where You Live," Green's awe-inspiring solo on "No Greater Love," Green and Cohn's counterpoint in the opening minute and again near the conclusion of "Just in Time," Leonhart's wistful arco bass solos in "Alone Together" that sandwich a swinging samba beat; and the beautiful, underexposed Cole Porter ballad "Dream Dancing." The disc concludes with the lovely and relatively obscure "Some Other Time" by Leonard Bernstein.

Recorded on July 23, 2003, at Avatar Studio in New York.

• Super Audio CD
• SACD Stereo SACD Layer
• This Single-Layer SACD can only be played on a Super Audio CD Player!
• Japanese pressing

Jay Leonhart, bass
Benny Green, piano
Joe Cohn, guitar

1. When Lights Are Low
2. On The Street Where You Live
3. Skylark
4. There Is No Greater Love
5. That Old Feeling
6. Just In Time
7. Alone Together
8. Fly Me To The Moon
9. I’ve Got The World On A String
10. Dream Dancing
11. Some Other Time

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it