Chamber Orchestra Of Europe - Mendelssohn: Symphonies 1-5 (Live)


Deutsche Grammophon



Product No.:
In Stock

FLAC 96kHz/24bit Download

FLAC 96kHz/24bit Download

Canada Eligible


or Add to Wishlist

Total download size: 3.6 GB Total play length: 3:20:13
Cover art and liner notes included

2017 marks the 500th anniversary of the European Reformation, started by Martin Luther in 1517. To honor this occasion, Deutsche Grammophon is releasing a new interpretation of the complete Mendelssohn symphonies, crowned by a recording of the Reformation Symphony No. 5.

The symphonies were recorded in February 2016 during a celebrated Mendelssohn festival over the course of two days at the Philharmonie de Paris - all under the baton of young, exciting conductor, Yannick Nézet-Séguin, the Music Director of the Philadelphia Orchestra and Music Director Designate of the Metropolitan Opera New York.


This release is the first complete symphonic cycle to be recorded at the new Philharmonie de Paris, which opened in January 2015!


For this recording, Christopher Hogwood's editions of the symphonies were chosen because of their particular importance for the Reformation symphony:

Mendelssohn, the often self-critical (and self-revising!) composer, who "in the process of trying to reduce the work to a length suitable for its celebratory function, [he] cut out one entire movement preceding the Finale, a passage that expands on the flute cadenza and prepares the arrival of the chorale theme with more engaging musical drama". (Christopher Hogwood)

The original version of the work may now be listened to in its entirety!


This release underlines a strong ongoing collaboration with the Chamber Orchestra of Europe that already culminated in a successful release of the complete Schumann symphonies (March 2014) and the continuing Mozart Opera Cycle. Two instalments of the latter have been nominated for a Grammy: Le Nozze di Figaro and Die Entführung aus dem Serail.

1. Allegro di molto
2. Andante
3. Minuetto. Allegro molto - Trio
4. Allegro con fuoco
1a. Sinfonia - Maestoso con moto - Allegro
1b. Sinfonia - Allegretto un poco agitato
1c. Sinfonia - Adagio Religioso
2a. Chorus. Allegro moderato maestoso Alles, was Odem hat, lobe den Herrn
2b. Molto piu moderato ma con fuoco Lobe den Herrn, meine Seele
3a. Recitative: Saget es, die ihr erlost seid durch den Herrn
3b. Allegro moderato. Er zahlet unsre Tranen
4. Chorus. A tempo moderato. Sagt es, die ihr erlost seid
5. Duet & Chorus. Andante. Ich harrete des Herrn - Wohl dem, der seine Hoffnung setzt!
6. Allegro un poco agitato Stricke des Todes hatten uns umfangen - Die Nacht ist vergangen
7. Chorus. Allegro maestoso e molto vivace. Die Nacht ist vergangen
8. Chorale. Andante con moto - Un poco piu animato. Nun danket alle Gott
9. Andante sostenuto assai. Drum sing' ich mit meinem Liede ewig dein Lob
10. Chorus. Allegro non troppo Ihr Volker, bringet her dem Herrn Ehre und Macht! - Danket dem Herrn und ruhmt seinen Namen
1. Andante con moto - Allegro un poco agitato - Assai animato - Andante come prima
2. Vivace non troppo
3. Adagio
4. Allegro vivacissimo - Allegro maestoso assai
1. Allegro vivace
2. Andante con moto
3. Menuetto. Con moto moderato
4. Saltarello. Presto
1. Andante - Allegro con fuoco
2. Allegro vivace
3a. Andante
3b. Recitative
4. Chorale: Ein feste Burg ist unser Gott - Allegro vivace - Allegro maestoso

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it