Alexander Gibson - Gounod: Faust - Ballet Music / Bizet: Carmen - Suite

Total download size: 1.8 GB Total play length: 44:43
Cover art and liner notes included

Widely regarded as one of the great RCAs. Alexander Gibson conducts the Royal Opera House Orchestra, Covent Garden, performing ballet music from Charles Gounod's Faust and Georges Bizet's Carmen Suite. Featuring orchestral highlights from Faust and Carmen, the later selections on Side 2 are nothing short of spectacular. Outstanding clarity and stereo stage. Transparency and imaging is superb.

Recorded in Kingsway Hall, London
Producer: Ray Minshull
Engineer: Kenneth Wilkinson

1. Les Nubiennes, valse (Allegretto)
2. Adagio
3. Danse antique (Allegretto)
4. Variations de Cléopatre (Moderato maestoso)
5. Les Troyennes (Moderato con moto)
6. Variations du miroir (Allegretto)
7. Danse de Phryné (Allegro vivo)
Funeral March of a Marionette (Marche funèbre d'une marionette)
Carmen Suite

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it