Product No.:
ACON 516
UPC: 888072031272
In Stock

Vinyl Record


or Add to Wishlist

Also available on:
FLAC 48kHz/24Bit Download


Acclaimed five-time Grammy-nominated guitarist Kenny Wayne Shepherd is back with his ninth album Lay It On Down, continuing to create genre-defining blues-infused rock and roots music.

Lay It On Down finds Shepherd two decades into a recording career that began when he was 16 and a guitar-slinging phenom. He's gone on to establish himself as an immensely popular recording artist, a consistently in-demand live act and an influential force in a worldwide resurgence of interest in the blues.

Lay It On Down was recorded at Echophone Studios in Shepherd's hometown of Shreveport, Louisiana and produced by Shepherd with Marshall Altman (Matt Nathanson, Natasha Bedingfield, Kate Voegele). The album was largely recorded live in the studio to analog tape. Songwriting for the album started in earnest two years ago, Shepherd says.

"I'm proud of the album we have delivered to the fans and I think they'll be excited by what they hear," notes Shepherd. "The band we've assembled did a fantastic job bringing these songs to life and conveying the musical message to the listener. Now we are looking forward to bringing this new music to the live show to watch it develop even more."

Shepherd's band on Lay It On Down features his long-time lead vocalist Noah Hunt, the rhythm section from Shepherd's supergroup side project The Rides — Chris Layton (drums) and Kevin McCormick (bass), and keyboardist Jimmy McGorman. Fans of Layton know him from the famed Stevie Ray Vaughan rhythm section Double Trouble, where he performed with bassist Tommy Shannon.

Shepherd has sold millions of albums worldwide and, in addition to his five Grammy nominations, he has won two Billboard Music Awards, a pair of Orville H. Gibson awards, the Blues Foundation's Keeping The Blues Alive award and two Blues Music awards. He's had six No. 1 blues albums and a string of No. 1 mainstream rock singles, and his acclaimed documentary project "10 Days Out: Blues from the Backroads" was the top-selling blues album of 2007.

Filmed in part at Blue Heaven Studios in Salina, Kansas, the "Blues from the Backroads" CD+DVD package features Shepherd with Double Trouble's Shannon and Layton performing with some of the greatest blues players of our time as well as lesser-known but historically significant bluesmen. Find out more, and order your copy here.

Watch Shepherd discuss the writing and recording process for Lay It On Down above.

1. Baby Got Gone
2. Diamonds & Gold
3. Nothing But The Night
4. Lay It On Down
5. She's $$$
6. Hard Lesson Learned
7. Down For Love
8. How Low Can You Go
9. Louisiana Rain
10. Ride Of Your Life

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it