Dwight Yoakam - Guitars, Cadillacs, Etc., Etc.

 (3 LP 30th Anniversary Limited Deluxe Edition)





Product No.:
AREP 556973
UPC: 093624917496
In Stock

Vinyl Record

No. of Discs: 3

Dwight Yoakam's debut studio album, now a deluxe 3LP set!

His first of three No. 1 Billboard country albums

Reissue featuring the original album plus 10 demos recorded in 1981

Also has 12 live tracks from a career-making L.A. performance

Produced by Pete Anderson, this disc's sinewy mix of traditional honky-tonk, red-hot Bakersfield twang and rock n' roll attitude spawned a trio of hits including a cover of Johnny Horton's "Honky Tonk Man," "It Won't Hurt" and the title track. In the bigger picture, its stripped-down sound twisted together strains of Hank Williams, Merle Haggard, Buck Owens, Elvis Presley, and more — with a roots-driven rawness, it changed and revitalized country music.

This limited, deluxe 3LP edition of Dwight Yoakam's classic Guitars, Cadillacs, Etc., Etc. features the original 1986 album tracks, 10 demos the Kentucky-born, Ohio-raised singer and songwriter recorded in 1981 at United Western Recorders in Hollywood, CA, and 12 live tracks from a career-making performance at the Roxy on L.A.'s famed Sunset Strip shortly after the album's release. The remastered tracks first appeared on a CD reissue released by Rhino Records in 2006, but this is the first time the bonus content has been released on vinyl. The Reprise set also features expanded liner notes adapted for the album's 30th anniversary.

Three of the album tracks rose into the Top 40 of the Hot Country Singles chart in 1986. Yoakam's first single was "Honky Tonk Man" peaking at No. 3 on the country charts; it was a song originally popularized by Johnny Horton in 1956. The follow-up was the title song, "Guitars, Cadillacs" at No. 4. His third single from the album was "It Won't Hurt," which only rose to No. 31. Another featured tune is "Bury Me," a duet with Maria McKee, then lead vocalist of Lone Justice. The album was the first of more than a dozen Yoakam albums featuring his collaboration with record producer-guitarist Pete Anderson.

Guitars, Cadillacs, Etc., Etc.
Side A:
1. Honky Tonk Man
2. It Won't Hurt
3. I'll Be Gone
4. South of Cincinnati
5. Bury Me (duet with Maria McKee)
Side B:
1. Guitars, Cadillacs
2. Twenty Years
3. Ring of Fire
4. Miner's Prayer
5. Heartaches by the Number

The 1981 Demos
Side C:
1. This Drinkin' Will Kill Me
2. It Won't Hurt
3. I'll Be Gone
4. Floyd Country
5. You're the One
Side D:
1. Twenty Years
2. Please Daddy
3. Miner's Prayer
4. I Sang Dixie
5. Bury Me

Live At The Roxy 1986
Side E:
1. Can't You Hear Me Calling
2. Honky Tonk Man
3. Guitars, Cadillacs
4. Rocky Road Blues
5. Heartaches By the Number
6. I'll Be Gone
Side F:
1. It Won't Hurt
2. My Bucket's Got A Holt In It
3. South of Cincinnati
4. Mystery Train
5. Ring of Fire
6. Since I Started Drinkin' Again

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it