The Beach Boys - M.I.U. Album





Product No.:
In Stock

FLAC 192kHz/24bit Download

FLAC 192kHz/24bit Download

Canada Eligible


or Add to Wishlist

Also available on:
FLAC 96kHz/24bit Download

Total download size: 1.20GB Total play length: 32:27

Cover art included, liner notes not included

Recorded at the Maharishi International University in Fairfield, Iowa, "M.I.U. Album" was the first album to carry Alan Jardine's name as producer. (Notoriously unsteady at the time, Brian Wilson was listed as executive producer.) Unfortunately, the mainstream late-'70s production techniques are predictable and frequently cloying. 'M.I.U. Album" also included several of the worst Beach Boys songs ever to make it to vinyl -- up to that point, of course. Though a few of them are partially saved by great harmony vocals, "Belles of Paris," "Winds of Change," and "Match Point of Our Love" (the latter complete with embarrassing tennis metaphors) are close to unlistenable. Still, the group's covers of rock & roll standards ("Come Go With Me," "Wontcha Come Out Tonight") work better than they did on 1975's 15 Big Ones. Of the originals, "She's Got Rhythm" and "Hey Little Tomboy" are oddly entertaining, and a few tracks ("Kona Coast," "Pitter Patter") enable the group to exercise some gorgeous vocal harmonies. Compared with what had come before, "M.I.U. Album" was a pathetic attempt at music making; compared with what was to come however, this was a highlight. [In 2000, "M.I.U. Album" was made available on the two-fer compilation M.I.U. Album/L.A. (Light Album).]

1. She's Got Rhythm
2. Come Go With Me
3. Hey, Little Tomboy
4. Kona Coast
5. Peggy Sue
6. Wontcha Come Out Tonight?
7. Sweet Sunday Kinda Love
8. Belles Of Paris
9. Pitter Patter
10. My Diane
11. Match Point Of Our Love
12. Winds Of Change

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it